Word of the Day

Learn a new word each day and watch your word power grow.  I have fun learning unusual, less known words.  I hope you have fun with this.

Find your own word for the day by scanning
the OWL or the OSPD6.  
Do you know that there are many words that have only consonants?    TSKTSK,  BRRR,  CRYPT,  FLYBYS.  GRRRLS,  GYPSY,  NYMPH,   RHYTHM

 

Monday, November 18, 2019
GJETOST
A hard browns cheese.  A noun.
 
Sunday, November 17, 2019
DUUMVIR
A magistrate of ancient Rome.  A noun.
 
Saturday, November 16, 2019
BOLETE
A mushroom or toadstool with pores on the underside of the cap.  A noun.
 
Friday, November 15, 2019
IPOMOEA
A morning glory.  A noun.
 
Thursday, November 14, 2019
GLUHWEIN
Wine flavored with spices.  A noun.
 
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
SYZYGY
An alignment of three celestial bodies that lie in a straight line.  A noun.
 
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
PAYNIM
A pagan.  A noun.
 
Monday, November 11, 2019
AVADAVAT
A small songbird.  A noun
 
Sunday, November 10, 2019
INCREESE
A short sword.  A noun.
 
Saturday, November 9, 2019
INVEIGH
To protest angrily.  A verb.
 
Friday, November 8, 2019
OOLITE
Limestone consisting of a mass of rounded grains made up of concentric layers.
 
Thursday, November 7, 2019
JINGAL
A heavy musket.   A noun.

 

Wednesday, November 6, 2019
HOWDAH
A seat on an elephant or camel for riders.   A noun.

Tuesday, November 5, 2019
CRWTH
An ancient stringed musical instrument.   A noun.
 
Monday, November 4, 2019
RAILLERY
Good natured teasing.  A noun.
 
Sunday, November 3, 2019
PEDAGOG
A teacher.  A noun.
 
Saturday, November 2, 2019
PRIEDIEU
A piece of furniture to kneel on during prayer.  A noun.
 
Friday, November 1, 2019
NOVERCAL
Pertaining to a stepmother.  An adjective.
 
Thursday, October 31, 2019
ELFLOCK
A lock of tangled hair.  A noun..
 
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
GWEDUCK
A large edible clam. A noun.
 
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
QAJAQ
A kayak (an intuit canoe).  A noun.
 
Monday, October 28, 2019
ATLATL
A device for throwing a spear or a dart.  A noun.
 
Sunday, October 27, 2019
AECIA
A spore-producing organ of a certain fungi.  A noun.
 
Saturday, October 26, 2019
ABOIDEAU
A type of dike.  A noun.
 
Friday, October 25, 2019
SEQUOIA
A tree.  A noun.
 
Thursday, October 24, 2019
VISCID
Thick and adhesive.  An adjective
 
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
CYANIC
Blue or Bluish.  An adjective
 
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
NILGHAI
A large antelope. A noun.
 
Monday, October 21, 2019
HOTSHOTS
Showily skillful people . A noun.
 
Sunday, October 20, 2019
CUSHAT
A pigeon. A noun.
 
Saturday, October 19, 2019
FRENEMY
One who pretends to be a friend but is actually an enemy. A noun.
 
Friday, October 18, 2019
DUUMVIR
A magistrate of ancient Rome. A noun.
 
Thursday, October 17, 2019
KUDZU
An Asian vine. A noun.
 
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
RUFIYAA
A monetary unit in the Maldives. A noun.
 
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
BOUBOU
A long flowing garment. A noun.
 
Monday, October 14, 2019
FLENSE
To strip blubber from. A verb.
 
Sunday, October 13, 2019
GJETOST
A hard, brown French cheese. A noun.
 
Saturday, October 12, 2019
NONYL
An alkyl radical. A noun.
 
Friday, October 11, 2019
BAGWIG
A type of wig.  A noun.
 
Thursday, October 10, 2019
MEZCAL
A cactus used as a source of liquor.  A noun.
 
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
GALUMPH
To move clumsily.  A verb.

 

Tuesday, October 8, 2019
HAWKIE
A white-faced cow.  A noun.

 

Monday, October 7, 2019
(There are 13 5-Letter-Words on the OWL beginning with ‘X’.)
XEBEC   XENIA    XENIC   XENON
XERIC   XEROX   XERUS
XYLAN   XYLEM   XYLOL
XYLYL    XYSTI     XYSTS

Sunday, October 6, 2019
OIDIOID
A type of fungus. An adjective.

Saturday, October 5, 2019
AIYEE
Used to express great alarm. An interjection.

Friday, October 4, 2019
(these words have all five vowels in them)
MIAOUED  
To meow (to make the sound of a cat).  A verb.
EULOGIA  
Holy bread  -or-  A prayer  -or-  A eulogy    A noun.
SEQUOIA  
A large evergreen tree.  A noun.
 
Thursday, October 3, 2019
GRRRLS
Young women who resist the exploitation of women. A noun.
 
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
QAJAQ
A kayak.  A noun.
 
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
ASRAMA
A secluded dwelling of a Hindu sage.  A noun.
SAMARA
A dry, one seeded fruit.  A noun.
 
Monday, September 30, 2019
EIGHTVO
A page size.  A noun.
 
Sunday, September 29, 2019
COLZA
A plant of the cabbage family.  A noun.
 
Thursday, September 26, 2019
ULSTER
A long loose overcoat.  A noun.
 
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
IONIUM
An isotope of thorium.  A noun.
 
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
RILLE
A valley on the moon’s surface.  A noun.
 
Monday, September 23, 2019
NAGANA
A disease of horses in Africa.  A noun.
 
Sunday, September 22, 2019
USUFRUCT                                                                            
The legal right to use another’s property so long as it is not damaged or altered.  A noun.  (Played against me by Judy Levitt at Bruce D’ambrosia’s club.)
 
Saturday, September 21, 2019
LIVYER
A permanent resident of New Foundland.  A noun.
 
Friday, September 20, 2019
YAKUZA
An alliance of Japanese criminal organizations.  A noun.
 
Thursday, September 19, 2019
NIQAAB
A veil worn by some Muslim women.  A noun.
(Not all words with ‘Q’ require a ‘U’ to follow ‘Q’)
 
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
KYRIE
A religious petition for mercy.  A noun.
 
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
NECKLET
A close-fitting ornament worn around the neck.  A noun.
 
Monday, September 16, 2019
FYNBOS
A type of biome (ecological community) in South Africa.  A noun.
 
Sunday, September 15, 2019
RUKH
RUKH is a noun with the identical meaning of ROC (a legendary bird of prey).  Many of my favorite words are not necessarily long and complex. Some of the very best are the short ones that are rarely seen and look strange enough to draw a challenge.
 
Saturday, September 14, 2019
HOTSHOTS 
Today I want to turn your attention to a whole set of words that have reoccurring letters within each word itself.  I once challenged Bruce D’Ambrosio when he played ‘HOTS’ ‘HOTS’. Can you figure out the word he played?  Below are others with the same pattern.  Can you think of any others?
TSKTSK
GRIGRI
MUUMUU                                                  
 
Friday, September 13, 2019
SMARAGD
An emerald, a green gem. a noun.  It can take an ‘E’ at the end after the ‘D’.  The plurals are: smaragds and smaragdes. I learned this from Frank Lee.
 
Thursday, September 12, 2019
STRIGIL 
A dentist’s scraping instrument; a noun.  I learned this word when it was played against me in a tournament by Stu Goldman and I challenged it.

 

Wednesday, September 11, 2019
BASHLYK
The only word on the scrabble Official Word List that ends with the letters YK.  It is a cloth hood and it is a noun.  Can you think of any other words on the OWL that have a unique pattern that are one of a kind?